Lamb Shanks


Moroccan Braised Lamb Shanks

Originally uploaded by Polkaroo

Day 139: Sorry if you’re vegetarian, but since I’ve got back from Cambodia all I want to do is eat meat. I was practically vegetarian while over there, because I saw the fresh food market and the meat and chicken and fish all left out in the open – not like our hygiene expectations at home. Anyway I thought it safer for my sensitive stomach to do the plain food approach. So I’ve been craving meat and the cooler weather has inspired me with a “slow cooker” pot which I’ve never used before, to do one of my favourite’s (but never cooked this myself before) lamb shanks. I love the way the meat falls off the bone, how tender it is and the gravy/juices to go over mashed potato. So what do I do? I google it of course. Google is my favourite recipe finder. I find a couple of recipes and combine a bit of both of them to make up my own. One said cook in stock and the other said to add red wine, so I added a bit of both. The only bad thing is that you have to brown the meat first before you put it in the slow cooker. But after this, it is relatively easy – just throw everything in the pot and let it cook for 4-6 hours.

The jury is in on the lamb shanks and it is a winner! All the family loved it. The meat fell off the bone and the sauce was delicious. Yum.

*The photo is taken from Polkaroo on Flickr, looks delicious.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/polkaroo/

Leave a Reply

