Departure

Day 115: An early start with a 8am flight, and with international flights you have to be at the airport at least 2 hours prior to departure, and I live about an hour from the airport, so it was a 4.30am start! Mornings aren’t my thing but all in all, besides my nerves I was packed and on my way. I’m a bit nervous about flying and especially without family. This is a girl adventure with 5 lovely girlfriends, and my first trip without the family in tow.  We all say our farewells and a few tears were shed.   On to the plane we go and here starts our adventure.  Seven hours to Singapore and three movies later I’m ready to stretch out.  A two hour layover in Singapore before our flight to Siem Reap, Cambodia.  We are exhausted but adrenaline keeps us awake.  We walk off the plane onto the tarmac at Siem Reap and wonder what we have got ourselves into.  Beautiful statues welcome us at the airport, elephants and buddha’s.  Our van is waiting for us and we get our first taste of Cambodian driving.  A bit freaky – there seems to be no road rules and a lot of horn beeping.  We check into our hotel and head straight to the pool to freshen up and enjoy a cold beer.  There is a haze surrounding the whole city and the heat is suffocating.  We enjoy our beers and listen to the chanting coming from a nearby temple.   Surreal!  We are here, or as my mother in law would say “I have arrived” 🙂

Leave a Reply

